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Welcome to the BMV’s 2023 Fall Workshop

Tina Gowell Wendy King Trisha Leathers
Municipal Coordinator Municipal Coordinator Municipal Coordinator

This workshop is designed to update new and experienced staff on administrative,
procedural, and legislative changes that have occurred throughout the year.

Limited New, New, and Truck training sessions are held regularly for municipalities and
staff. We encourage staff to attend a refresher class at least every 2 years, because laws

and procedures frequently change and staff may not always know or understand our
requirements.

Whenever you have questions, please feel free to con%ct us at:
Phone:(207)624-9000 Ext. 52163 Q
Fax #: (207)624-9037 |

E-mail: Municipal. BMV@maine.gov | :a : |
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CONTACT INFORMATION
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Don’t Forget

BMV may not officially give MSRP quotes. If a MSRP quote is needed, please contact:

Maine Revenue, Excise Tax section
624-9784

Open for business 9:00am-12:00pm
BMV can, however, provide an MSRP that was on a previous registration.

Consider contacting Maine Revenue directly for questions concerning Sales Tax:

Maine Revenue, Sales Tax Section
624-9693
Open for business 9:00am-12:00pm



Public Laws Affecting The Bureau of Motor Vehicles, Vehicle Services
Division
Enacted by the 131st Legislature, First Special Session

Effective Date - Wednesday, October 25, 2023, unless otherwise noted

Chapter 85 (LD 128), “An Act to Remove the Limit on Sets of Special Veterans Registration Plates

This amends 29-A MRSA 8523, sub-83, and sub-83-A, by removes the limit on the number of Special
Veteran plates and motorcycle Special Veteran plates that may be issued to a veteran.

Qualifying veterans may be issued any number of Special Veteran plates (VT) and Special Veteran
Motorcycle plates (VM).
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Chapter 257 (LD 1072), “An Act Regarding the Bureau of Motor Vehicles”

This law makes several technical amendments to 29A MRSA as Secretary of State, Bureau of Motor
Vehicles.

e Repeals 29-A MRSA 8460-A which authorized honorary consul plates which was advised by the
federal government.

e Amends 29-A MRSA 8501, sub-87, fA, to allow a temporary registration permit to be issued to
occasionally move a Tiny Home.

e Amends 29-A MRSA 8523, sub-83 and sub-83-Ato include any person that has served a minimum of
20 years in the National Guard and has been honorably discharged to be eligible for Special Veteran
registration plates (class code VT) and Special Veteran motorcycle plates (class code VM).
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Public Laws Affecting The Bureau of Motor Vehicles, Vehicle Services Division
Enacted by the 131st Legislature, First Special Session

Chapter 271 (LD 1822), “An Act to Amend the Specialty License Plate Laws and Extend the

Moratorium on Approval of Specialty License Plates and Remove the Authority of Municipalities to

_ Issue Driver’s Licenses”
Effective date: June 23, 2023, by emergency clause

This amends and enacts several sections to the statutes governing the specialty license plate program as
follows:

Removes outdated language that anticipated that municipal offices would issue drivers licenses.
Due to the complexities involved in driver license issuance, this is not feasible today.

Increases the fee from an additional $1.00 fee to an additional $2.00 over the required fee when an
applicant is requesting issuance of a set of specialty plates.

Eliminates the issuance duplicate numbers on different classes of plates.

Requires plate sponsors to be affiliated with a department of the State of Maine and requires specialty
plate sponsors to establish a public instrumentality fund.

Increases the number of required prepaid plates, from $2,000 to $4,000 which equates to 100,000 to be
paid the Secretary of State to establish the plate program and inventory.

Requires the sponsor to inform each supporter that prepays for a plate, that the funds will be returned to
them within 90 days if the collection of signatures and funds are not met within 1 year.

Clarifies that the Secretary of State will provide a voucher directly to each of the 4,000 supporters that
contributed $25. and that the credit voucher may be used only to obtain one set of plates.

Establishes a consistent formula for the distribution of specialty plate funds.

Increases the minimum number of plates the Secretary of State shall manufacture from 2,000 to 4,000
license plates for each authorized plate.

Requires plate numbers and plates with a number and letter combinations must not duplicate plates
issued in any other plate class but grandfather’s anyone with a duplicate plate provided they maintain a
registration with that plate.



Public Laws Affecting The Bureau of Motor Vehicles, Vehicle Services Division
Enacted by the 131st Legislature, First Special Session

Chapter 271 (LD 1822), “An Act to Amend the Specialty License Plate Laws and Extend the
Moratorium on Approval of Specialty License Plates and Remove the Authority of
Municipalities to Issue Driver’s Licenses”

Effective date: June 23, 2023, by emergency clause
(Continued)

Clarifies that sponsors cannot collect signatures and funds electronically.

Establishes a mechanism for the Secretary of State to notify the sponsor and the legislative
committee having jurisdiction over transportation matters when a plate falls below 4,500 active
registrations.

Establishes a mechanism for retiring a specialty or recognition plate if the number of valid
registrations falls below 4,000 for 1 year or if the sponsor goes out of business.

Establishes a maximum of 15 different approved specialty plates and 15 approved recognition
plates and provides that the Secretary of State shall create a wait list of the received requests.
Prohibits specialty plate in any class of plates; grandfathers commercial plates authorized for
conservation plates and agriculture specialty plates.

Requires a specialty plate sponsor to provide their affiliated state department an annual
independent audit of the designated fund which will be provided to the Secretary of State. The
Secretary of State will provide the report to the joint standing committee of the Legislature having
jurisdiction over transportation matters.

It also extends the moratorium on any new specialty plate or recognition plates from July
14, 2023, until June 30, 2025.



Public Laws Affecting The Bureau of Motor Vehicles, Vehicle Services Division
Enacted by the 131st Legislature, First Special Session

Effective Date - Wednesday, October 25, 2023, unless otherwise noted

Chapter 364 (LD 575), “An Act Regarding a Seat Belt Exemption for Persons with a Medical
Condition”
Effective date January 1, 2024.

Amends 29-A MRSA 82081, sub-84, A-1-1 by changing from 1 year to 6 years, the length of time a
removable windshield placard is issued to a person with a medical exemption from wearing a seatbelt.

Seatbelt placards are only issued at the BMV Administrative Office. The BMV Administrative Office is
currently working on computer programming changes and updating the Application for Seatbelt
Exemption (PS-15).
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Chapter 403 (LD 1463), “An Act to Amend the Definition of “Farming” Under the Motor Vehicle
Laws to Include Equines Not Raised for Racing”

Enacts 29-A MRSA 8101, sub-817-Ato define a commercial (race) track. "Commercial track" has the
same meaning as in Title 8, section 275-A, subsection 1.

Enacts 29-A MRSA 8101, sub-823, to add to the definition of "Farming" to include the raising equines
not raised for racing at a commercial track.

It also requires by November 6, 2024, the Secretary of State to provide a report to the Transportation
Committee that describes the financial impact to the Bureau of Motor Vehicles from including "equines
not raised for racing at a commercial track” in the definition of "farming”. It also provides for the
Transportation Committee to submit legislation relating to the report to the 132nd Legislature in 2025.

*hhkkkkkkhkkhkkhkhkhkkhkkhkkhkhkhkkhkhkkhkkhkhkhkkhkkhkkhkhkhkkhkkhkkhkhkhkkhkhkkkhkkhkkkhkkkkhkkkkhkkkkhkkhkkkhkkkkhkkkkhkkkkhkkhkkkkkkhkkkhkkkkikkikkkhkikkkikk



Public Laws Affecting The Bureau of Motor Vehicles, Vehicle Services Division
Enacted by the 131st Legislature, First Special Session

Effective Date - Wednesday, October 25, 2023, unless otherwise noted
Chapter 421 (LD 1965), “An Act to Authorize the Secretary of State to Provide a New General
Issue of License Plates”
Amends 29-A MRSA 8451, sub-81-A, to authorize the Secretary of State to provide for a new general
iIssue of registration plates beginning no later than May 1, 2025, to be completed before July 31,

2026.

You will be receiving more information about the new plates in the upcoming months.
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New Title Applications

Changes to form MVT-2

BMV has made the following changes to form MVT-2, in anticipation of launching the
Electronic Lien Titling Program (ELT) on January 31, 2024.

New Carbon Copies — The owner, lienholder, and dealer carbon copies are no
longer color coded on form MVT-2. Instead, each page is printed on white carbon
paper with bold, red ink indicating to whom you should distribute each copy.
Please note that customers will start using white owner’s copy instead of a blue
one to register recently purchased vehicles.

New Blocks — BMV has added blocks 21a and 24a to form MVT-2 to collect a
Lienholder Identification Number. Customers and municipal staff may leave this
block blank, unless they have paperwork from a lender indicating a Lienholder
Identification Number.

How to get the new form — You may continue using your existing stock until
January 1, 2024. BMV will start fulfilling form requests with the new MVT-2 in
September 2023. Please plan to order the new form accordingly.

If you use software to print title or registration applications, BMV has informed
your vendor about these changes. Please contact your vendor if you have
qguestions about software updates.

These new forms are NOT laser compatible.
For more information: elt.bmv@maine.gov or www.maine.gov/sos/bmv/titles.elt
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MVT-2 Title Application Changes
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MVT-2 Title Application Changes

ﬁ-ﬁ Frequently Asked Questions  “galZit.

Will my printer work with the new form?

The new version of the form is printed on the same type of NCR paper as the old one. Both versions of
the forms are 4 pages. You will need an impact printer to print the new version of the form. If your
current printer can print the current version of the MVT-2, it is an impact printer and it will be able to
print the new version.

Will my printer print information in the correct spaces on the new MVT-2?

We have reached out to TRIO, Munis, and Northern Data Systems about the new version of form MVT-2.
They will update their software to print on the new form at their discretion. If you have questions about
when these updates will become available, please contact your vendor.

May | accept the blue copy of the owner’s copy to process registrations after February 1, 2024?

Yes, you may accept either version of the owner’s copy after to process a vehicle registration. We
expect both versions of the owner’s copy to remain in circulation for the foreseeable future.

When will we receive the new “Dear lienholder letter”/ MVT-30?

BMV is revising these documents and will let you know as soon as they are available.
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ASSIGNMENT OF OWNERSHIP

| Z:,:%V"I iam T. ‘Sherman & Lois A."Sherman R A S L ey e )

ater Street, ~ Waterville, Maine : e DAPOTF % 2

ODOMETER DISCLOSURE STATEMENT

i state that the odometer now reads 8 932 e - {ND TENTHS) and 1o tThe be st 'of my knowledge that it reflects the agtual mileage of the vehicle unless |
ane ol the follon nts 15 ch
O cartify est of my knowledge the cdometer reading reflects the amount of mileage in excess of iis mechanical limits- (the odoimelar staded al zerd againg

23| gertify that the Sdometer reading is nol the actual mileage, WARNING-ODOMETER DISCREPANCY

Libstor Larry Lobster . 05/15/2023
g Lobster amee LUCY [ODStEr  ~ -.05/15/2023

Seter's signaiure

LIEM HOLDER TQ BE SHOWN ON NEW TITLE (if no lien, print NONE)

e TN B L P S, ool P

! Lien hoiders name

Zip

Lien holdor's Atdress —aeo e

BUYER{S} DO NAOT SIGN BELOW UNTILALL SECTIONS ABOVE HAVE BEEN COMPLETED AND SIGNED. SIGMING BELOW INDICATES THAT YOUARE AWARE OF THE QDOMETER . |

| ZT?TE“W“ T ~ William T. Sh_grm_a,n . 05/15/2023
‘ Lo A. SWW\M anes OIS A, Sherman ~ . 05/15/2023

| Sigmatura of Buyer(s
ANY FALSE STATEMENT 15 A CRIMINAL OFFENSE. ANY CHAMGES OR ERASURES WILL VOID THIS FORM.

e

L ATA16 (701

Example of the

back of the
title.

Prior to processing a title application for your customer, review the back of the title.

If there are 2 names on the front of the title, both are required to sign.

Is there an assignment of ownership? If no assignment of ownership, an original and
complete bill of sale is required to attach to the title application being processed,

including year, make, VIN, buyers and sellers names and signatures.

15




TITLE REVIEW
MVT-2 Issues

Box 3: Remember to capture a phone number.
Contact information for a customer is valuable
when trying to resolve title/registration issues.

@@@@@@

' 207 -231-1234

Box 5: If an MSRP is listed on the prior title it

MUST be carried over to the new owner. If s
no MSRP is listed on previous title, check off v;
“Not required”. g MSHPI;“R-
. $29,411
Box 17: Enter the plate that was issued at time
of registration. This allows for quick access to _
the registration if that transaction needs to be T 1232"2”(55{:&)
researched. ot craroes | 16
B | s ewie




TITLE REVIEW

ol e i wehicle financed.

Box 21: If there is no lienholder, indicate ‘NONE’. Note: A o NONE

previous title must be included with the Title Application.  [the iien nolder is|? Ao &5

This is not a ‘Missing Documents’ scenario. person financing

the vehicle. Title [Zi Sacand 1a

tha institution or

n hobdars nama

Out of State titles: Unlike Maine, some states (like New York) issue titles to customer
even if there is an outstanding lien. Carefully review the document. If there is an open
lien it must be listed on the MVT-2 unless accompanied with a lien release.

A customer registering for the first time in Maine may not
have their title due to the lienholder possessing it.

MVT-23B

Complete the MVT-23B “Notice of Missing Documents and .

Unusual Circumstances” and attach to the MVT-2.

Fromn: O Branch Office

Notice of Missing Documents or

Cmer

3

State of Maine

r Unusual Situations

U Munisipality

O Last valid registration isased to this ew
(Thin i whorn sditivnal gl 4

O Pleass return attached Oviginal Bill of Sale o ovmwer,

LIEN

INFORMATION

The lien holder is|** ™

PO BOX 1

the vehicle. Title [z

tha institution or
person financing

lign haolder's name it vehicka Tir

The Credlt Company

nanced.

srigin stis dorumment requined fir impe

et vobiclst ot ile-ssampt sextet csuatries. )

e Tie s st W/ LIEN HOLDER

s, & Slre

e forwarded 1o

D MVT-10 - VIN Inspection Form (

Moneytown, MD 21000

ond liem hotder's nama

o

O MVT-32 = Odomecer Informarion l'onn
s

{oaly #f edesmsess rending is

Notes:

City Siate The fallow g documents wei mp en ol

the registrant at the time of transaction:

and dh volbicl s mar prwcemt at ima of regitration )

nngn \h dng. Copy given o owner for addirional signarure.

Reason

A’ior Title is missing.

w/ LIEN HOLDER

A’LT—SU — Letter to out of state Lien holder or Lessor

{The yellow copy of CTA should be included with this letter.)

17




REGISTRATION PROCESSING

Electronic Towns:

e PCclass code plate: Subclass to be used is P2 and NOT P1. P1is a stock car
and the fee for a Stock Car is $7.00. Registration will say “NOT TO BE DRIVEN
ON HWY” /

State of Maine Vehicle Registraﬁnn (] FES TEATICN RSN I
E Eff Dite is Validation Date B Mot Frioe To:. 04,/20,/2023 Expires: 04/30/2024  Insurance gk PC | PASSEN /
: VI TEAR WAKL R COLOR STYVLE TIRES WNLES T WERGHT FEOSTEEED WG UKL
1FALPR2E8VHG1T74718 2017 | FORD FoOCUOSs BL an =
E oo D
Base 1208 | NOT TOEE DRIVEN ON HWY
STANLEY, JESSICA 10/27/1970 Miil. Rate 04 I
Local
ExTx 13180
: ExT3Bal 13130
W= T T ExTyCats 042002023
Fees T.00
4 Apent Fee 00
SR TETEE et R Salex Tax DLE
f |"PT0THOX 15 s Vabined CTA# AA1705
VALIDATED EEGISTEATION 'l &
YOURTOWN ME 04123 s B0 STOCK CAR
TIAL EESIDENCY LEGAL RESEERCE CODE F144 80
18 FRONT 5T 1357504
YOURTOWN ME D4444
ST e ME 1485376 UserTd WSK | ENEWEREG
Tax Receipt #: 1357024 Sickees g 04003544357 oy 24D0D475366
AVE-SVE Baw 012023 EECGTISTREATION WWW.malne.eov 30

Be careful when a customer moves to your municipality that you enter this
subclass correctly prior to renewing the vehicle. If you use the incorrect subclass,
your resident will receive a balance due letter in the mail and the registration

must be corrected. 15



100% DISABLED
VETERAN

a+ & VIAINE .

SAMPL &

£ VETERAN )

(XV)

To Qualify:

Letter from the VA or appropriate agency.

Permanent disability that is service-related.
Indicates Veteran is either 100% disabled or
being compensated at 100%.

Veteran must be a titled owner or lessee.

Entitles a qualified veteran to a free registration AND excise exemption on
One Vehicle Only.

Excise tax receipt must be generated at the town office prior to sending the
veteran to the branch office for the designated plates allowed for exemption.

Veteran is required to pay sales tax, per Maine Revenue Services.

Customer must present the qualifying paperwork when completing the

. . 19
registration.



o A O
ftess, » fegaiw,,,,% 053:’%0,,
TRANSFERS

Municipalities charging incorrect registration fees on transfers contributes
to 40% of all BMV rebates in FY2023.

Double check the fees! In most cases this will be S8.

Exceptions include additional registration fees due if the transfer involves a
registered weight change.

Common error: If the fees list as $43.00, this often indicates the S35 state
registration fee was not populated on the record from which you are taking
the credit (Ex: Excise-only, Rapid Renewal).

Check your ‘system update’ to ensure that the state registration fee is
present.

Otherwise, the customer will overpay and will have to be refunded by BMV.
20



Jaanese Kei-class
(“Mini-trucks”)

e

Sy
—

Military Vehicles

DO NOT REGISTER!

The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
(NHTSA) has ruled that
these vehicles do not meet
Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards.

These vehicles are manufactured in Asia for use in third
world countries and are not manufactured according to
USA standards.

They do not meet emission standards and may include
right-hand steering.

Not designed for normal highway use.

These vehicles (along with most imports) are not
registered for on-road use.

When in doubt, please contact a Municipal

Coordinator.
21



CASH REPORTING

ENVELOPE SAMPLE:

The following example shows the correct procedure to follow when validating the
outside of your envelope with your municipal validation stamp.

Town of Yourtown
PO Box 555
Yourtown, ME 99999

Attn: Accounting Unit
Bureau of Motor Vehicles
101 Hospital St

29 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333-0029

NOTE:

Municipalities processing electronically should also indicate “Electronic” below the

municipal validation stamp_|

Always stamp the outside of the report
envelope with the validation stamp
including the date range of the report.
Separate transfers, duplicates, and
corrections from registrations. NOTE:
Manual towns processing duplicates will
retain the white copy of the MVR3 and will
only send in the MV-11 with your report.
All miscellaneous documents, ie: MV-9,
MV-138, need to be bundled together and
need to include the registration’s MVR3
number on each document.

Separate the no fee Use Tax forms from the fee Use Tax forms and staple each separate
grouping together. Remember that every New registration, if private sale, homemade trailer
or out-of-state sale, needs to have a Use Tax form processed, even if no fees are to be

collected.

Mail FLAT in an envelope large enough to support the complete report.
NEVER staple anything to the white copy of the registration.



It is important to maintain your inventory in sequential order. Not maintaining inventory
makes it difficult to monitor cash reports and can lead to having “stray stickers” being listed in
inventory.

 Ensure the validation number on the registration matches the MVR3 number on the form.

e g e

T O ﬁ"‘c:ﬁ{ 1 5 Fepistration Woid
Trnle=s= VWValidstad
WAL IDATED EECGIL E-'I_'R_#..T'IG:‘;
¥ OURT OW N ME 04123 L e
ILEGSAT. RESIDFEHCE LEGAT. BRESIIXEWCE DOODE -
18 FRONT ST @
W OTTRT ORI ME 04444 | —
/

R O FW R 00T S

{xD

el S S ey ] Pt ST Tl

e ALWAYS CHECK THAT PRINTING WAS DONE CORRECTLY BEFORE SAVING YOUR WORK. If
needed, you may be able to reprint the registration.

e |f the registration does not print and it has been saved in the system, you will have 2
options:
— VOID the MVR3 and start over, which is the preferred option.

— Process a correction. With this option, the original MVR3 that was printed incorrectly,
or not printed at all, will need to be sent in with the correction. This original MVR3 is
the registration that is attached to the money that was collected. If the MVR3 is blank,
it CAN NOT be put back into inventory for use with another customer.

23



DATA INTEGRITY

Electronic Processing Municipalities: Monthly Delta Files are available to be downloaded
from the InforMe website within the first 5 days of each month.

These files contain up-to-date BMV data that are crucial to ensure you are operating with
accurate registration data. It is IMPERATIVE that this be done in a timely manner and done

correctly. Saving these files to your computer is not enough. The files need to be saved to the
proper location.

Contact your electronic vendor for specific instructions. Failure to follow these procedures
leads to many registration errors!

24




\ CORRECTIONS

HAVE A CONVERSATION WITH YOUR CUSTOMER

Take a moment to have your customer review the plate, their name, and vehicle
information prior to leaving. Avoid a correction by thoroughly reviewing
paperwork prior to the customer leaving the office.

Occasionally, it will be necessary to correct or change information on an existing
registration. Examples: incorrect vehicle identification number (VIN), color
change, address change, name addition/deletion, and plate change, etc.

If a correction is being asked of you by the Bureau of Motor Vehicles Municipal &

Agent Services Section, please DO NOT just update your system with what we are
asking you to correct. You will need to process an actual correction and send your
customer the corrected yellow copy. That correction will be your customer’s new
legal registration.



ENTITY INFORMATION Emm [

e Please inform us if your office needs to unexpectedly close due to medical leave,
vacation time, etc.

— REMINDER: Excise tax can only be collected by another town if there is a written agreement between
towns, and BMV has a copy of that agreement on file.

 Be proactive! Consider creating an excise agreement with a neighboring town in case a
closure occurs. This can avoid a major inconvenience for your residents. BMV cannot
collect excise tax!

e |tisimportant for BMV to maintain an accurate database of municipal information,
which includes a list of employees who are authorized to process registrations.

* When you hire a new employee or an employee leaves, please let us know so we can
update our system. This will allow us to inform you on what training classes, if any, that
employee needs to take.

e Let us know if there are any changes in office hours or email addresses as that
information needs to be updated as well.



@0\ REMINDERS

Upon renewal, if your customer’s plate is more than 5 years expired call Numerics (624-9052)
for verification.

Please submit the MV-51 via email when ordering supplies. This form is located on our
municipal website http://www.maine.gov/sos/bmv/municipal/index.html and is more
reliable than fax submittals. The email address for the stockroom is
STOCKROOM.BMV@MAINE.GOV.

Leased vehicles: Always attach a copy of the lease agreement to the title application.

ALL renewals and new registrations MUST have questions 1 and 2 answered on the back of
the registration as well as mileage. For ‘CO’ and ‘FM’ plate vehicles, questions 1, 2, 4, and 5
need to be answered, and for ‘TT’ plate vehicles, questions 1, 2, 4, 5, and 6.

— IF QUESTION 6 ON A ‘TT’ CLASS PLATE REGISTRATION IS NOT ANSWERED YES THE REGISTRATION SECTION
WILL BALANCE DUE THE CUSTOMER $40.00.

According to MRS, Title 36 Sec 17-65, a registered car dealer can put “NA” for the sales tax.
Typically, this mean the customer’s trade-in value is more than the price of the new vehicle.

27
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FORMS

STATE OF MAINE
BUREAU OF MOTOR VEHICLES
Returned Plate Card

Registrant Name 1

Mickey Mouse

BV ENTERED

[ egistrant Hame £
AéﬁMouse Ln ciass coas PC
Mouseville

Piars ¥ Recurnad 1234AB

No

& o Plares Recwrmed

TE 04444 eosmnronn 0] coprason ver 2023

Stare Zip oo
New Cilass Code Now Plarg £
Reasons for returm (check all that apply):
AL |ate Requestad vantty piats (s)
Lost f Found Suspanalon
Mutliated Wehicle Jold

Recovared [ removed by law enforcement Wl no longer reglster a wehiclie In Malne

Requastad new styls | class plats (s) Other

BMV Branch OfMice Clark’s ininials Dave Ramad

wscmonee OUITOWN o T WU crenes05/10/2023

Non-Government Agent Clark’s Ininials Dare Ramnmad

MV-553-T Rev as2017 BMV COPY

P

P
fq '%d\
(5 Sampla V%

0et95/10/2023

STATE OF MAINE
BUREAU OF MOTOR VEHICLES
29 State House Station
Augusta, Maine 04333-0029

Note:

Registration plates issued by the Secretary of State continue to be the property of the State. When a
registration certificate is suspended, revoked, canceled or has expired and the owner has no intention fo
renew or transfer within & months, the owner shall remove the registration plates and forward them, along
with the registration certificate, to the Secretary of State.

Completed MV-553
RETURNED PLATE CARD

Call a Municipal Coordinator
if registrant information is
unknown.

Send the MV-553 in with
your report. Never attach this
form or registration to the
actual plates.

Validation stamp needs to be

on all miscellaneous
documents.

28



FORMS

NOTICE OF LOSS OF NUMBER PLATES AND REQUEST FOR NEW PLATES

(FEE: Each plate $5.00—With validation stickers—$5.50) Pla,t
Class CR {Type of Plate)  Plate Number 999W Plate(s) Needed: O 1 or XZ Stickers Nee;d:
O Yes No
Name: W|”|am E”|0tt Date of Birth: 05/06/1965 {check one)
Exp. Month
Address:
29 State Street, Cozy Harbor, ME Plate was:
zp 04000 . ) Lost
Daytime P . . X Mutilated
Telephone: (207) _555-5555 Signature W'/LZA/MVUEW - s
O Stalen

] PERMANENT ADDRESS CHANGE: Please check this box for address to be changed on your registration. _
O Remaoved by Law

| Please attach a copy of your current registration. | Enforcement

To be completed by BMV representative or Municipal Agent Fee Collected:so
Were new plates issued? K Yes [ No (checkone) Validation Stamp
If Yes: New Plate Number: 737)( Class CR
Were validation stickers issued? N Yes [0 No (check one)
If Yes: Month Sticker #: 017654 Year Sticker #: 147845
Manth X - 04D Year x I 8 24D
LP Clerk issued Sticker (s) Mo April v 2024

Bureau of Motor Vehicles, Attn: Lost Plate Clerk, 29 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333-0029 Tel: (207) 624-9000 ext. 52149

MV-9 Rev. (8-2012) BMV COPY

Completed MV-9

A registration
MUST be issued
indicating the
replacement plate!

Validation stamp
needs to be on all
miscellaneous
documents.

29



" MAINE °[)

ALER

PLATE CHANGES

In the event a customer would like to transfer credit from one vehicle to another, or upon
renewal decides to get a new plate, refer to the following when deciding whether or not
to charge the customer an $11.00 replacement plates and stickers fee along with their
registration fees:

1. PC (regular) to PC (regular) — Yes, the customer would be charged a replacement
plates and stickers fee of $11.00 to replace their existing plates.

2. PC (regular) to BC (specialty) — No, the customer would be charged a fee of $20.00
(specialty plate fee) but not the replacement plates and stickers fee of $11.00.

3. PC (vanity) to PC (regular) — No, the customer would not pay the replacement
plates and stickers fee of $11.00.

4. SW (specialty) to CR (specialty) — No, the customer would be charged the $20.00
(specialty plate fee) but not the replacement plates and stickers fee of $11.00.

5. SW (specialty) to SW (specialty) — Yes, the customer would be charged the
replacement plates and stickers fee of $11.00 to replace their existing plates.



Department of the Secretary of State
Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles

REQUEST FOR REPLACEMENT
OF VALIDATION STICKER

N 1 Single Sticker $.25 ] 1 Set of Double Stickers $.50

2 Sets of Double Stickers $1.00

Date of Birm:CMS

04000

[m] 2 Single Stickers $.50 (m]

vame: PEtEr Lovell
Mailing Address: 16 Main St
City/Town: YOU rtOWH

State: M E

Sticker (s) Issued:

O7S Control Number: 0425619

Year: Control Number:

For use with Plate Number: 1160CK Class Code: PC
Sticker did not stick

Wsk

Month:

If no fee, please explain:

004/11/2023

Clerk:

101 Hospital Streat, 20 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333-0020
phone: (207) 624-2000 Ext. 52148 TTY users call Maine relay 711
MV-14 [Rev 5/18)

Completed MV-14

= If your customer has

lost one sticker, DO NOT
issue a set of stickers.
Issue a single sticker
from your singles
inventory.

= Remember to provide an

explanation for a “no
fee” replacement.

Validation stamp needs to
be placed on all
miscellaneous documents.



Thank you for participating in the
2023 Fall Workshop!

RS . -

MUNICIPAL SECTION =

Please do not hesitate to call the Municipal
Coordinators should you have any questions
that you cannot find answers to in the Vehicle
Services Procedures Manual.

(207) 624-9000 Ext. 52163
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